top of page

I Shared My Poshmark Closet Once Every Hour And This Is What Happened



I have a bit over 400 active listings in my Poshmark closet. It’s the biggest it has ever been, and unsurprisingly, sharing my closet is the biggest chore that it ever has been.

On average, I'll share my closet once to twice a day, and not very consistently at that. I’ll try to share once in the morning and once in the evening. Since full-time reselling, I’ve been making about 3 sales a day on average.


After the discouragement and frustration of a very bad sales month, I decided the time for proactiveness was now. I needed to take control and figure things out. Was the low sales month a result of my lack of consistent closet-sharing?

I wanted to figure out exactly how much of a correlation sharing my closet had on my sales, so I decided to share my closet every hour for a day.


Sharing my closet of about 400 active listings can take me as little as 12 minutes when everything goes right (e.g. wifi is on point and I don’t accidentally click on a listing mid-share). I’ve shared on my phone, iPad (with and without stylus, and without seems to be faster for me), and laptop and have found that sharing on my laptop is by far the fastest.


After sharing my closet, I go through the “likes” section of my notifications and send out offers to likers (usually 20% w/ $4.99 shipping) on all the items people have recently liked. After doing this for 2 days straight, you’ll easily see which pieces you sent out offers on yesterday and end it there. This only adds a couple minutes to the routine.


So, on a random Wednesday, I decided to share my closet once every hour, from 9AM to 9PM, and kept a tally of how many offers I received and sales I made within that hour. Here it is:

It was a slow start, and I was a little deterred, wondering if it was all going to be a waste of time.

Finally, I made one sale in the 1 o’clock hour from somebody who had accepted my offer on an item they recently liked. In the 2 o’clock hour, I received 2 offers and accepted both of them. I received another offer in the 5 o’clock hour and accepted that one.


OK, and I didn’t share my closet in the 6 o’clock hour. I’m the worst, I know. I was watching a movie (Spotlight, a slow burn but interesting story on Netflix) and got distracted. Sorry, guys.


And that was the end of the activity for the day. I shared my closet three more times, and didn’t receive any more offers or make any more sales.


So was it worth it? Sharing my closet every hour for an entire 12 hour day? That’s like 180 minutes of after all, 3 whole hours! Geez--I just did the math on that (I rounded 12 minutes up to 15 since there'd be times of slow wifi or having to scroll through my closet again after an accidental mouse click).


If you’re lacking momentum and a solid sharing routine on Poshmark, wondering how much sharing really helps, I say yes!


Some valuable insight I got from doing this was seeing which time has the highest potentiality for sales.


It surprised me to see that most activity was in the 2 o’clock hour. I had also made a sale in the 1 o’clock hour, so I saw the 1-2 pm window as a key window to make sales. It encouraged me to not only share my closet once in the morning and evening, but a third time in the afternoon, ideally within this window.


Maybe the greatest benefit in sharing my closet every hour was the momentum and encouragement I got from it. I continued to receive offers and make sales for the days after, and it was really motivating. I realized everything really is figure-out-able and within my control, including making Poshmark sales.

It's so easy to complain about slow sales and blame it on the Poshmark algorithm. I really hope that's behind me, though. If/when I’m having a slow day, I’ll check in with myself: How many times I’ve shared my closet that day? How many offers have I sent out? Can I share my closet more? Can I send out more offers to likers?


That’s really been my biggest takeaway lately: everything is figure-out-able; nothing is out of reach. You want more sales? Try sharing your closet more. Try sending out more offers. 

I realized how mystifying and uncontrollable I was making the Poshmark algorithm out to be, and how I was kind of resigned to let the sales and offers come as they may. If you want more sales, hustle and make them happen! That’s how you’re going to make the big stacks! Stop waiting for the offers to come to you, and send them out yourself. Share your closet more and see what happens.


I know not everybody is going to have the same experience I did, you may make more sales, you may make less, but I do think the time you put in on Poshmark counts for something. Hard work will always pay off.


950 views0 comments
bottom of page